Well, folks. I had good intentions, really, I did. I have made these probably 6 times in the last several years. Most recently I made them for my father-in-law for Father's Day (last year) and they were perfect every time. Crisp on the outside and soft on the inside with a dark chocolate ganache drizzle on the top....Heaven.
I had this grand idea that I would make my favorite macaroons for all of my son's teachers. I had little bags ready with red, black and white ribbons to seal them. I even had enough for their assistants and 4 to spare for us. I mixed the ingredients, scooped them onto baking sheets, put them in the oven, made the ganache and...forgot about them.
I started helping my son with his homework while doing the dishes at the same time. A classic recipe for disaster.......
I had forgotten to set the timer and only remembered them when I smelled a "toasted coconut" aroma wafting from the LG.
The loud, long NOOOOO that flew out of my mouth sounded a little like the Zurg character from Toy Story 2. According to my kids, that is ;)
One tray that went in first was completely black. The other 3 were just kind of brown. I would eat them but I am sure as S#!T not giving them away! That would look really good...."Hey my Mom, you know who has the food blog, made you these yummy cookies"...I can just hear my sons now.
But I do want to share my recipe because these normally are really, really good cookies.
Coconut Macaroons with Dark Chocolate Ganache
3 C unsweetened shredded coconut (you can use the sweetened kind but with a slightly different taste)
1/3 C sweetened condensed milk
pinch salt
3/4 tsp almond extract
3/4 tsp vanilla extract
Ganache: 1/2 C dark chocolate chips and 3 TB heavy cream
Preheat oven to 350 and lightly spray cookie sheets with Pam or use a Silpat.
add coconut to bowl. In a little bowl mix the other wet ingredients and salt. Add to the coconut. With a spatula mix what you have until it is sticking together. With a cookie dough scoop (sprayed with Pam) scoop out balls of the mixture (pressed a little in the scoop to make a hard ball) about 1 inch apart.
Bake at 350 for 12 minutes or until they are just barely a little brown. Not like these:
Now you may say that they look OK, and to me they taste OK...but they are overdone.
Let these completely cool before you drizzle with your ganache. TO make a ganache you melt the chips in a glass bowl with the cream in a microwave. Just heat 20 seconds at a time then stir and continue this until it is smooth and melted. Allow to cool a bit then put in a piping bag or a zip lock with the end cut off which is what I did. I was sloppy since they were going to be staying at our house, now :(
Brown but GOOD :) SO I guess it wasn't a total loss....
I said that I wanted to share my culinary hits AND misses...so here you go :)
They still look delicious!!
ReplyDeleteGood morning! I'm just stopping by to "stalk" you from the Super Stalker Sunday Hop! Sorry it's so late but I've almost made it through the entire list! Hope you stop by this weekend and join the hop again!
Mariah, Formula Mom
Don't fret we are all allowed to burn something ever once in a while. I am also following you via TGIF blog hop. Please follow me.
ReplyDeletehttp://itsabouttimemamaw.blogspot.com/
Ha, Ha..YOU crack me up! Love the reference to Zurg! :)
ReplyDeleteI have done this myself!
Oh I love this post. I have actually had a few things go up in flames in the oven because I have forgotten about them. Yikes. You know, the old "dinner isn't done until the smoke alarm goes off" joke. These still look wonderful.
ReplyDeleteGreat recipes here! Found you over at Tasty Kitchen. I'm your newest follower. And, as you can imagine, we've all overcooked some cookies. I do it almost every time. That darn last batch.
ReplyDeleteThank you all for your comments! I agree, we all do it. I just hated to do it because I bought that super good coconut and I hated to waste it all! But some were salvaged. We ate some and I gave some to my parents tonight :)
ReplyDeleteThank you all for visiting my site! I always email you all back but I never know if you get the email....hope so!